Board of Directors

Cam Garner, Executive Chairman

Mr. Garner co-founded specialty pharmaceutical companies Zogenix Pharmaceuticals, Cadence Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Somaxon Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Elevation Pharmaceuticals, Inc., DJ Pharma, Verus Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Xcel Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and Meritage Pharma, Inc. He has served as chairman of Zogenix, Cadence, Verus, Elevation and Meritage since August 2006, May 2004, November 2002, December 2007 and February 2008, respectively. Xcel was acquired in March 2005 by Valeant Pharmaceuticals International. DJ Pharma was sold to Biovail in 2000 and Elevation was acquired by Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. in September 2012. He was Chief Executive Officer of Dura Pharmaceuticals, Inc. from 1989 to 1995 and its Chairman and Chief Executive Officer from 1995 to 2000 until it was sold to Elan in November 2000. Mr. Garner also serves on the board of directors of Aegis Therapeutics, Inc., Cadence Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Meritage Pharma, Inc., Neurelis, Inc., and Zogenix, Inc. Mr. Garner earned his B.A. in Biology from Virginia Wesleyan College and an M.B.A. from Baldwin-Wallace College.

Ned Israelsen, JD

Mr. Israelsen is an intellectual property attorney and manages the San Diego office of Knobbe, Martens. His major areas of practice include advising startup companies and established businesses in the biotechnology, pharmaceutical, and medical areas, including worldwide patent protection strategies; avoidance of third party intellectual property; portfolio building; due diligence; intellectual property opinions; and licensing. He is also a prolific angel investor (with over 30 startup investments) and is an active member and past treasurer of Tech Coast Angels. He is a founding investor of Kalyra, as well as CardioCreate, Inc. and Actavalon, Inc.

Dirk Thye, MD

Dr. Thye has founded or cofounded 6 pharmaceutical or medical device companies. Two of his companies (Peninsula Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and Cerexa, Inc.) were acquired for > $800 million combined (by J & J and Forest Laboratories). Before becoming CEO of InClin, Dr. Thye was President of Cerexa and led the company through the development and FDA approval of Cerexa’s lead product, Teflaro® (ceftaroline fosamil). Dr. Thye has an MD from UCLA and a BA in molecular and cell biology from UC Berkeley. He performed his medical residency training and achieved board certification in Internal Medicine at Stanford University.

Kevin Bunker, PhD

Dr. Bunker is a founder, Board member, and the CSO of Kalyra Pharmaceuticals. He developed the core technology around which Kalyra was founded. Prior to founding Kalyra, Dr. Bunker was an award-winning scientist in Pfizer’s drug discovery research group in La Jolla, as part of the medicinal chemistry department. During his time at Pfizer, he worked on multiple therapeutic areas including oncology, diabetes, antivirals, and ophthalmology, and received several awards for his contributions. Prior to Pfizer, Dr. Bunker carried out postdoctoral research at The Scripps Research Institute under the direction of Professor Dale Boger. He received his PhD in organic chemistry from the University of California, San Diego under the direction of Joseph O’Connor. He is the inventor on multiple patents and an author of multiple articles in peer-reviewed journals.